Welcome to the CNY Bowling Associations website, sponsored in part by ICTG, LLC
We welcome all comments and suggestions ! 


Our Site was Last 2 May 2019 Like & Follow us on:  Facebook Logo      

Our History Page 4
Marty Piraino became the only person to go undefeated in the very popular “Utica Club” New York State bowling show in 1960. He had won all of his matches for eleven consecutive weeks. Marty also set a Syracuse Bowling Association record when he averaged 223 at South Side Recreation Lanes.
1960 was the very first year of the Herald Masters. Win Sheding won it by defeating Phil Zollo. On April 4th Teddy’s Collision of the Syracuse Classic League, set a league all-time record of 3301. The individuals and their scores were, Pete Mossotti-712, Chuck Muhl-621, Dom Carapella-630, Sam Fanizzi-633, and Paul Jacuk-705.

In 1963, Marty Piraino won his first Professional Bowling Association championship in Warren, Ohio by defeating Dick Weber in the championship match.

On October 25, 1966 at Imperial Lanes, Trailer Diner bowled the highest team sanctioned series in the history of the Syracuse Bowling Association. They bowled a score of 3431 in the Post-Standard Classic League. Nini Sgroi bowled 660, Alex Pandozzi-706, Tony Mano-660, Lou Scrimale-687, and Marty Piraino-718.

On September 15, 1967, the Syracuse Women’s Bowling Association inducted its first two members. They were Mrs. Mary Kite and Mrs. Alberta Crowe.

At the A.B.C. tournament in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1968, Raphael’s Restaurant finished in 9th place in the team event with a score of 2992. The teams’ scores were Raphael Caloia-555, Joe Borello-595, Tony Caloia-574, Don Gates-615, and Greg Griffo-652. This team also set an S.B.A. single game record of 1229 on April 23, 1968. Raphael Caloia bowled 288, Joe Borello-233, Tony Caloia-235, Don Gates-230, and Greg Griffo-243.
The “World of Ten Pins” bowling paper, announced its’ first all-star bowling team as chosen by the bowlers of Syracuse. They were, First Team- Greg Griffo, Joe Borello, Marty Piraino, Lou Scrimale, and Sam Piraino. The Second Team was, “Flash” Caloia, Don Gates, John Savage, Nini Sgroi, and Howie Stearns.

Solvay resident, John O. Martino, was inducted into the American Bowling Congress Hall of Fame in 1969. He was born in 1897 and went from being a pinboy to becoming president of the American Bowling Congress in 1947.
Also in 1969, Marty Piraino won his second Professional Bowlers Association championship in Houston, Texas, when he defeated Billy Hardwick. Syracuse was awarded the 1973 A.B.C. tournament during the 1969 A.B.C. convention. Marty Piraino was chosen to the 31st annual Bowlers Journal All-American team as a member of the second team. The “World of Ten Pins” all-star bowling team for the 1968-69 season were First Team- Marty Piraino, Greg Griffo, “Flash” Caloia, Joe Borello, and Lou Scrimale. The Second Team- Tony Caloia, Nini Sgroi, Rusty Collier, Dan Capucilli, and Nick Raphael.

Marty Piraino won his third P.B.A. championship in Fresno, California in 1970 by defeating Nelson Burton Jr. Lou Scrimale won the Landgraf Singles tournament in New York City with games of 216, 203, 244, and 244 for $4,000. Sam Piraino & Nick Raphael won the doubles with a score of 1328.

In 1971, Marty Piraino finished 4th in the Professional Bowlers Association “Firestone Tournament of Champions”.

Casmir Podgorniak, in 1972, was elected to the All-American Deaf bowling team. He had been a top-notch bowler in Syracuse for many years. Some of the other honors that he has received are; elected to the New York State Deaf Hall of Fame in 1970, the Eastern Deaf Bowling Hall of Fame in 1980, the Great Lakes Deaf Hall of Fame in 1987, and the National Deaf Bowling Hall of Fame.
On March 9th, 1972 Dominick Cefalo bowled 827 at Eastwood Sports Center setting an Association record for series. He broke the long standing individual series record established by Andy Piraino at the Palace Alleys on January 15th, 1935.

Syracuse was host to the A.B.C. tournament in 1973 and the tournament drew 5,590 teams that year. Marty Piraino continued his fine bowling on the P.B.A. tour by winning his 4th championship in Waukeegan, Illinois. He defeated Jay Robinson by a score of 299 to 195.

At the 1975 A.B.C. tournament in Dayton, Ohio, Marty Piraino became the first bowler from Syracuse to win an A.B.C. championship. He teamed with Bill Bunetta to win the A.B.C. Classic Doubles title. Marty shot a 300 game and a 772 series while Bill shot 620 for a 1392 score. Eastwood Sports Center had the largest entries in S.B.A. tournament history, (562) teams, (760) doubles, and (1520) singles.
Page 4